It was halfway through the previews when my childhood best friend Amanda and I stumbled through the dark theatre, leaving a trail of spilled popcorn, tipsy off laughs and shared margarita flights. We were meeting our sisters and moms on the opening night of the live-action depiction of Disney’s The Little Mermaid.

The cartoon version of the movie was like the “b-roll” of our childhood. We grew up watching it over and over (and over!) again, fighting over who loved it most. My sister reminded me that we were so into it, that I called my mom Ursula as an insult when I was really T-ed off.

Pictured from left to right: “Aunt” Teresa, my sister Sydney, my “sister” Tiffany, my sister Stacie, me and my “sister” Manda. Not pictured is my mom (formerly known as Ursula) who is already sick of our shenanigans and hiding behind my “Aunt” Teresa.

Watching the movie with the OG crew was both nostalgic and sobering. We have all lived a lot of life since those carefree days as kids. As I reflected on our viewing, an interesting analogy framed my perspective as some lyrics from Ursula’s song played over and over in my mind.

In the story, Ariel longed for Eric and to be a “part of his world.” Feeling discontented as a sea creature, Ariel’s heart was captivated by anything human-related. This fascination grew as King Tritan– her larger-than-life father– tightened his grip on her, fear causing him to despise the world she longed for.

The power to fulfill Ariel’s longing was well-within King Tritan’s grasp, but because of the disconnection in his relationship with Ariel, the thought of pulling him in to help her fulfill this longing wasn’t conceivable.

Out of desperation and spite, Ariel turned to dark magic.

Ursula promised to fulfill Ariel’s desperate desire by making her a human under strict conditions and for a steep price.

Ursula wanted Ariel’s voice. Blinded by desire, Ariel made the trade, not knowing the price she’d paid.

Ariel didn’t know the value of her voice. To Eric, it was her identifying factor. Without her voice, convincing Eric that she was the woman who saved his life, the woman he fell in love with at first sight, and the woman he was turning his island upside down looking for, was next to impossible.

By giving away her voice, she unknowingly gave away the very part of herself that set her apart and tethered his heart to hers.  

In a solid show of “extra-ness,” I had a friend make me this shirt for our trip to the movies.

This is the theme that’s haunted me– in the best way–since watching this familiar story unfold with a perspective now framed by wisdom and life experience.

The lyrics from Ursula’s song “it won’t cost much, just your voice” bounced back in forth in my head for weeks.

I love when God uses the secular to speak something sacred to my earth-worn soul. Usually when I can’t shake something seemingly silly like a random line from a song, I need to sit with it and see what divine message God tucked away inside.

As I considered these lyrics, I thought about how similar Ariel’s plight is to mine.

I’m often discontented and restless in this world I inhabit, the spirit within me drowned by the reality about me. I love the truth in the quote “we are spiritual beings having a human experience.” Sometimes I get it twisted. My body makes my spirit say “uncle” as I trudge on through the familiar but unenchanting. The spark inside me never dies but dwindles to a flickering flame, until something catches my eye.

“What’s a fire and why does it, what’s the word… burn?”

I remember my longing to belong—to be understood and accepted. This God-given longing beckons to be fulfilled, even in ungodly ways.

When the chase is on, I forget who my Father is and stop at nothing to fulfill this desire apart from Him.

Not knowing how to use my voice to ask for what I need, I trade it for a counterfeit of what I want.

The scene plays out. I gave up my voice and no longer have what it takes to fulfill my longing because, to truly have my longing fulfilled, I need to embody the truth of who I am.

Who I am is the daughter of King and it’s my voice that testifies to that truth.

However, in agreement with the lie that I’d never have my needs met, I gave my voice over to another.

Now, I stand silently by as she sings my song.

Unlike Ariel, I don’t have a Father blinded by fear; disgusted by my desires. In fact, in their purest form, my Father gave me the desires of my heart—He placed them there and He’s the only one who can fulfill them without collateral damage. He doesn’t ask me to sacrifice my voice; He magnifies it and anoints it with power. He set the world up so that through our voices and His sacrifice, the accusatory voice of the enemy is silenced.

Do we know how valuable our voices are? What God has for us will never be realized by giving our voices away or manipulating them to sound like everyone else’s. God doesn’t want us to trade what sets us apart and empowers us for counterfeit belonging in a world we weren’t created for. Instead, when we ask Him, He’ll equip us with everything we need to live fulfilled in the world, not subject to it.

We’ll be a siren of connection from Heaven to Earth, singing a love song of Freedom and true fulfillment for all who have ears to hear.

Who would have thought the Disney cartoon that once-upon-a-time had me and my sisters hoisting ourselves up on the arms of our couch, pretending we were the Little Mermaid belting out the desire to be “part of your world,” would inspire such deep thoughts? But here I am, no longer a little girl oblivious to pain, whose made some unbecoming trades for a small taste of belonging alongside heaps of regret.

God is restoring my voice in all its purity and teaching me of its immense value. Much like Ariel, I learned through experience if it costs me my voice, it will cost me everything.

Do you relate to what I’ve shared here? Please comment below!

4 responses to “What the Little Mermaid Taught Me”

  1. Another fabulous writing! I can relate with this on so many levels! I love you girl!

    Like

  2. Ronda (Mom) T Avatar
    Ronda (Mom) T

    Keep sharing your gift Brit! It’s bringing light to this dark world! I’m so proud of you!

    Like

  3. This is fantastic! So well written.

    Like

  4. Once again you knocked it out of the park. You’re amazing Brit. I love you!

    Like

Leave a comment